Pego Elected Chief of Saginaw Chippewa Indians

On December 3, Steven Pego was elected Chief of the Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribe during the December General Council meeting.

Prior to his election, Judge Patrick Shannon administered the Oath of Office to each tribal council member, swearing in the new Saginaw Chippewa Indian Tribal Council.

Pego was elected by secret ballots by the council.

“It is truly an honor to be selected to serve as tribal chief for my Anishinaabe Tribal community.” Pego said. “I will do everything in my power to ensure we all collectively work for what is in the best interest of the tribe.”

Other key positions elected were: Sub-Chief, Lorna Kahgegab Call; Treasurer, Shelly Bailey; and Secretary Sandra Sprague.

Pego, Call, Bailey and Sprague make up the tribe’s Executive Tribal Council. Ron Nelson, District II Representative as the Tribal Council Sergeant-At-Arms; Jennifer Wassegijig elected as Chaplain. The other tribal council members currently serving until fall elections in 2015 are: Tim Davis, Chip Neyome, Michele Stanley, Lindy Hunt, Delmar Jackson, and Julius Peters.

Comments are closed.

Credit Card Identification Number

This number is recorded as an additional security precaution.


American Express

4 digit, non-embossed number printed above your account number on the front of your card.


3-digit, non-embossed number printed on the signature panel on the of the card immediately following the card account number.


3-digit, non-embossed number printed on the signature panel on the back of the card.

Enter Your Log In Credentials